Lambda Literary Finalists

The list of the 27th annual Lambda Literary Award Finalists is out, and I’m super-stoked for all the finalists. One of the best things about writing inside what often feels like a tightly interwoven community is that I always find myself happy for whoever wins – I’ll know the publisher, or the author, or one of the editors, or what-have-you. It’s a nice reminder of the “family” vibe of the LGBT writing world.

I’m also woefully behind in my reading. It’s amazing how many of these finalists I own and haven’t read yet. Gah. At some point, I’m sure I thought I’d have more time to read what with giving up the day-job, but somehow… Well. Best intentions, and all that.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t also include some massive thankfulness. Specifically, I need to thank some editors for letting me take part in some awesome anthologies which have made the list of finalists. In the order in which they appear on said list…

  • Jerry L. Wheeler‘s The Bears of Winter is a finalist for Gay Erotica, and includes my wee tale “The Psychometry of Snow,” where a second chance for a gifted man arrives on a snow-covered mountainside.

  • Timothy J. Lambert and R.D. Cochrane‘s Foolish Hearts: New Gay Fiction is a finalist for Gay Romance, and includes “Struck,” my story about a bookstore clerk having a very memorable run-in with a very memorable psychic who decides to fix his life.

  • Bruce Gillespie‘s A Family By Any Other Name: Exploring Queer Relationships is a finalist for LGBT Anthology. I wrote a piece, “It Could Happen to You,” included in this anthology about the wonderful family I married into.

    As always, I’m in awe of the company I get to keep. And as you know, my heart belongs to short fiction, so whenever I see anthologies in the spotlight, I can’t help but feel joy. The editors I’ve worked with over the years have never failed to teach me, inspire me, and – frankly – make me look better for more than I have any right to claim the credit. Fingers crossed for them, and congratulations to everyone on the finalist list.

  • Leave a Reply

    