Writing Wednesday

It’s Wednesday – time for some public accountability on the whole writing thing (and also to share some Open Calls for Submission love).

Triad Blood: Progress on the novel? I’m on track. Actually, I’m ahead of on-track for having my rough draft completed when I want it, which gives me all the more valuable time to chisel and crack at it thereafter. Obviously, I still have a tonne of work left to do, but last week I hit the 62% mark on the word count, and given how many instances I’ve popped in the square brackets of doom (my shorthand way of saying ‘go back and write this scene’) I’m feeling more comfortable about the size of the whole project. More, the whiteboard has never looked this organized. Happiness is finding the balance between my “pantser” nature and the “plotter” necessities.

Short Stuff: My pal Jeffrey (who should also be your pal) has me trying for this “one short story submission a month” deal since the rollover of the new year. So far, so good – I submitted a reprint for a queer vampire collection back in January, and in February, I finally got my story sent for the Biggest Lover anthology. (Biggest Lover is chubby erotica collection – my story is about math. Also pie. And Pi.) For March, I’m trying to decide if I want to attempt a steampunk story (a first for me). I’m not sure yet.

Which brings me to…

Open calls I know about:

  • Glitterwolf Magazine – Issue 8, Identity; deadline March 31st, 2015.
  • Clockwork Canada Anthology – Steampunk Canadian anthology; deadline April 30th, 2015.
  • There – Short Gay Fiction, Chelsea Station; deadline May 1st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.

Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments.

Leave a Reply

