Writing Wednesday

Writing Wednesday – where I hold myself to some public accountability on the whole writing thing (and also to share some Open Calls for Submission love).

Triad Blood:

I’ve got guests this week (my mother, niece and nephew), so I knew ahead of time this week would be problematic for writing (ie: I could totally not feel bad about not accomplishing word count goals). I’m just shy of 70% of the total draft word count, which is still good. I still need to smut it up a notch, but I’ve planned where the smut up-notching should occur.

As I said, I have family visiting this week, and next week I have the Saints and Sinners Literary Festival! Can’t wait. But that’s not going to help my word counts.

Short Stuff: 

So steampunk and I might not get along very well. We’ll see. I’m shifting gears and working on an erotica piece this month instead – it’s going to be down to the wire (see above re: visitors and Saints and Sinners) as to whether or not I can manage to submit a short story in March, but fingers crossed.

Which brings me to…

Open calls I know about:

  • Glitterwolf Magazine – Issue 8, Identity; deadline March 31st, 2015.
  • Fireside Magazine – Flash Fiction; deadline April 11th, 2015
  • Clockwork Canada Anthology – Steampunk Canadian anthology; deadline April 30th, 2015.
  • There – Short Gay Fiction, Chelsea Station; deadline May 1st, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.

  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.

Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments.

Leave a Reply

