Throwback Thursday – The Clover Grill

Seven years ago, I went to New Orleans for the first time to the Saints and Sinners Literary Festival. It was incredible, and I met so many wonderful authors, writers, and readers – people I’m now lucky to call friends. And apparently, eight years ago, when I got back home, I talked about the food instead of the people. This post rescued from Livejournal, originally dated May 14th, 2008.

While in New Orleans, I was taken to the Clover Grill on the very first night I arrived, to order take-out, which we consumed in the lobby of the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. This was where I discovered grits (way better with butter and salt than with nothing), tater tots, and had the worlds best bacon and eggs breakfast, awesome fries, and a cheeseburger (with bacon) that left me just silent in awe.

On my last morning, I took this shot while making one last trip to the Clover Grill with fellow Fool for Love author Mark G. Harris (though he had no luck in getting served). Breakfast at the Clover Grill became a tradition in less than three days. Who knew?

New Orleans is delicious.

Clover Grill

Leave a Reply

