Throwback Thursday – First Reading

The first time I ever did a reading in public was May 16th, 2006 – I read from “Heart,” which was my first published piece of short fiction, included in Fool for Love: New Gay Fiction. The word ‘nervous’ didn’t cut it, which surprised me, since I enjoy public speaking. After it was over, I wrote this short post, rescued from Livejournal.

When Timothy J. Lambert asks you as you sit down, “Was that the first time you read?” with that inscrutable look, you wince.

“Yes,” says the scrutable me.

“You were really good.”

While that sinks in, you grin like a monkey on acid.

Leave a Reply

