Writing Wednesday – Romancing the Capital

In two days, I’ll be speaking at Romancing the Capital, a new romance conference put together by Eve Langlais. I’m a wee bit nervous on a few different fronts, but most centrally in being (I think) the only gay guy – I say think because there are enough pen-names involved that I might be completely wrong. It’s probably an unfounded sense of nerves, but going to the Saints and Sinners Literary Festival may have spoiled me a wee bit. Also, there are a few m/m authors going to be present, so I need to just get over it.

This moment brought to you by Imposter Syndrome.

At RTC, I’ll be doing three things:

  • The Many Shades of Love: LGBT Romance Panel on the Friday, April 17th at 10:00a.
  • Author Intimate Chat on the Friday, April 17th, at 3:00p.
  • Same Sex, Same Romance? A discussion of what (if anything) should be different in LGBT romances as opposed to mainstream romances, on the Saturday, April 18th, at 10:00a.

    Regsitration for those events is, unfortunately, now closed – but there’s also an open-to-the-public book fair happening, which is 2:00p – 4:00p on the Saturday, April 18th. If you want one of those nifty Light magnets, I’ll have them there. Free with a smile.

    Okay, that’s the appearance writerly stuff that’s inbound. Onward to my usual Writing Wednesday stuff.

    Writing Wednesday – where I hold myself to some public accountability on the whole writing thing (and also to share some Open Calls for Submission love).

    The Novel:

    Monday and Tuesday this week were awesome for writing, and I got another 2k+ done on the draft. I’m sitting now at about 72% of my total estimated word-count (I think my estimate might be a bit off, to be honest, and I might be coming in a bit shy of my original intent, but I think coming in a bit under will be a welcome and refreshing change for me.) I still have to work on the smutty bits and including them, came up with a few new key scenes that strengthen the whole, and am still finding myself naturally wanting to make this book the all-Anders, all-the-time show, which means if the next book is from his point of view, I’m going to love writing it.

    If I keep up at the pace I’m going, I should be “done” a draft pretty early in May. This is fantastic. It gives me three solid months to hack a draft to pieces before I need to mail it in to Bold Strokes. Also, I got to fill in my cover information and blurb stuff, so that was exciting.

    Short Stuff:

    All the happy exuberance I just had about the novel? None of that love here. I’ve barely scratched short fiction this month, and I’m not sure I’ve got something that’ll launch before the end of the month. Fingers crossed. Partly it’s RTC and losing some time to prepping for that, but mostly it’s just me staring at a screen and not quite having a story gel. There’s still time.

    Open Calls I Know About:

  • Clockwork Canada Anthology – Steampunk Canadian anthology; deadline April 30th, 2015.
  • There – Short Gay Fiction, Chelsea Station; deadline May 1st, 2015.
  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is May 15th, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments.

    Leave a Reply

    