Writing Wednesday

After coming back from Romancing the Capital, I was creatively and intellectually very recharged. I scribbled so many notes to myself about things to check, polish, or work on in the new novel or some short stories, I figured I’d hit the keyboard and never slow down again for days.

Instead, I got sick.

There was warning. My husband had been knocked flat on his butt by a cold on Thursday, the day before the conference, and so when I started feeling bad Friday night, I wasn’t too surprised. I made it through the Saturday of the event, spent a great deal of Sunday feeling grotty, and then on Monday I was barely capable of being upright for an extended period of time. Yesterday was a bit better, but I was basically a drooling idiot.

This is a long pre-excuse for still being pretty much where I was on my word-count as of last week’s numbers for the novel.

The Novel:

As I said, I didn’t get much further. From a percentage point of view, it’s pretty much the same at 72%, though I’ve got quite a bit of pages hand-written to go through, and I’ve high hopes for the rest of the week now that I’m feeling somewhat human again.

Short Stuff:

I can’t name specifics, but I got notice of an acceptance, which is lovely. Also, the latest issue of Glitterwolf Magazine is out, and I have a piece in the companion ‘Letters to my Sixteen Year-Old Self’ piece, which I hope you’ll take a peek at. If you’d like to get an idea of what’s in store, this beautiful video gives you an idea.

And, of course, I’m still futzing with ideas for various other anthology calls. I’m still worried about making something on time for April, but I cross my fingers.

Open Calls I Know About:

  • Clockwork Canada Anthology – Steampunk Canadian anthology; deadline April 30th, 2015.
  • There – Short Gay Fiction, Chelsea Station; deadline May 1st, 2015.
  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is May 15th, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments.

    Leave a Reply

    