Writing Wednesday

Hey y’all. Writing Wednesday is here again – where I basically admit publicly how much – or how little – progress I’ve made over the last week. It’s my attempt to keep myself focused through the power of public shame, and so far, so good.

Also, I try to list various open calls for submission I hear about. Share the love.

The Novel:

I’m over 77% of my word-count goal now, and if I keep up the momentum I could see myself having a draft done by the end of May. That’s the goal, anyway. I’m so very close to putting all the pieces together into one larger file and printing it so I can slash the crap out of it with a pen rather than a keyboard. I keep having “backwards” days, where instead of increasing my word-count I decrease it, but that’s okay – I’m starting to hit the phase where I want to edit rather than write, which means I’m getting there. The other 23% or so (which sounds like so much) is more about filling in gaps in the prose where I skipped over things to stay where the motivation was. Also smut.

Short Stuff:

If I manage to finish this short fiction piece I’m working on right now, I’ll submit it tomorrow. I actually wrote 5,600 words on it already today, which probably means it’ll be too long overall. That’s usually my problem. It’s a story about an assassin and his handler, and how someone wants the handler dead and they meet face-to-face for the first time to figure out who and why. It’s going to be smexy, and it needs more work, but so far, so good.

I do have a back-up plan for submitting something for April that’s kind of a cheat (it’s something I’ve already written that isn’t due until June) but I’ll submit it tomorrow if I can’t get the assassin story polished enough by then.

Which leads me to…

Open Calls I know about:

  • Clockwork Canada Anthology – Steampunk Canadian anthology; deadline April 30th, 2015.
  • There – Short Gay Fiction, Chelsea Station; deadline May 1st, 2015.
  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is May 15th, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments.

    Leave a Reply

    