Writing Wednesday – Flat-on-my-back Edition

When I was twenty, hurting my back meant some sort of antics had taken place and I’d done something likely equal parts humorous and foolish. Now that I’m forty, hurting my back often means I reached for something on a shelf in exactly the same way I’ve always reached for that same thing on that same shelf but something inside me went pop.

It feels better when I lie on my back, so this is going to be a short update.

Writing Wednesday is where I basically admit publicly how much – or how little – progress I’ve made over the last week. It’s my attempt to keep myself focused through the power of public shame, and so far, so good.

Also, I try to list various open calls for submission I hear about. Share the love.

The Novel:

Word count good, yadda-yadda, blah blah. The important thing is I got the cover! Bold Strokes Books has really captured the idea of Triad Blood and I can’t wait until I get a final version to show y’all. Seriously, I really like the wee details on this cover. I wish you could see it already, but – alas – you’ll have to wait until I get the go-ahead.

Also, writing going well, yadda-yadda, blah blah.

Short Stuff:

I did indeed submit something in April, but it was very close. I’ll let you know if I hear anything.

My goal this month is to finish a short story I’ve already had half-or-more written in my saved folder of “in progress but not for a specific call” stories. There are a couple of calls that have due dates this month that I need to move on, and I think there’s a few possibilities for these half-done tales to suit a call. Fingers crossed.

Open Calls I know about:

  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is May 15th, 2015.
  • Queers Destroy Fantasy – from Lightspeed Magazine; deadline June 1st, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Unconventional Love – Short romantic fiction that revolves around attending a convention; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Covalent Bonds – Geeks in Love; deadline December 15th, 2015.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments.

    2 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday – Flat-on-my-back Edition

    Leave a Reply

    