Writing Wednesday – The Voices in My Head

It’s Wednesday again, which means I’m here being publicly accountable for my writerly output.

First, though, a question about voice. While I’m working on Triad Blood, I’m constantly in a state of juggling the three voices of the story. Luc, my somewhat proper (at least on the surface) vampire; Anders, my absolutely selfish and uncouth demon; and Curtis, my optimistic and naive wizard. It’s fun, don’t get me wrong, but it occurs to me that I’ve put together a couple of tricks to make sure I keep their voices distinct, and wonder if you’ve got tricks of your own?

The biggest thing I’ve got a short list of about a dozen “language quirks” that I use for each character. For one, Curtis can’t swear – it’s actually plot-driven, since he’s a wizard, and his spoken voice can affect the world around him, he has to be careful not to cuss too vehemently, or he’ll make things happen. Luc, being of French Canadian heritage, generally swears in French. Anders is a foul-mouthed believer in all the bad words.

It’s a small thing, but the difference between Curtis’s “Crap,” Luc’s “Merde,” and Anders’s f-bombs is something that sets them a little bit apart. Curtis speaks like a typical twenty-something. Luc is quite a bit more formal and poised – he’ll use “may” instead of “can” and things like that. Anders is a foul-mouthed believer in all the bad words.

Wait, come to think of it, most of Anders’s “language quirks” involve being foul-mouthed. Hrm.

How do you get into character voice? Any tips or tricks?

The Novel:

Oh, the patchwork stage. I gave myself a wicked headache trying to push past four hours of solid keyboarding on Monday, and that was a mistake. But I’m still on track. I can honestly see myself having an (ugly) draft in the next couple of weeks. Eee!

My husband is actually flying to New York in a couple of weeks – my true goal is to have something to print, one big file, before he gets back. The manuscript is due at the start of September. I feel good about where I’m at. How weird is that?

Short Stuff:

I have achieved Jeffrey Ricker’s goal of submitting a short piece every month. May – check! Now onward to something for June…

Open Calls I know about:

  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is June 1st, 2015.
  • Queers Destroy Fantasy – from Lightspeed Magazine; deadline June 1st, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Defying Doomsday – apocalypse-survival fiction with a focus on disabled characters; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Unconventional Love – Short romantic fiction that revolves around attending a convention; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Covalent Bonds – Geeks in Love; deadline December 15th, 2015.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments, too.

    2 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday – The Voices in My Head

    1. If I sent out four things in May, does that mean I don’t have to send out anything until September? (Kidding; I have one more to send out this week, and three more lined up for June.)

      Like

    Leave a Reply

    