Writing Wednesday

Quick update today, because I had a visit from the insomnia monster last night and wow am I tired. I think I got perhaps an hour or two of sleep last night, if that. Woo! Thank goodness for strongly brewed tea.

Writing Wednesday is my attempt to keep myself honest by posting processes – and goals – on a weekly basis. The idea being that if I have to admit that I’m not getting anywhere, I’ll work harder to make that not happen. Because public shame is motivating, apparently.

Anyway! Onward…

The Novel:

Oh man, I can taste the completeness of a terrible draft. (I say that half-jokingly, as I know a draft will have so much more to do on it, but there’s a lovely sense of crafting when you get to the draft stage, rather than the raw writing.)

I didn’t add in the wordcount for yesterday, but I’m at 86% of my original word count estimated goal of 70,000, and I think my “real” goal will now be closer to 68,000 since I decided that epilogue cliffhanger had to go. I’ve got some major writing to do with Eli’s character (you haven’t met him yet) and between that and making sure all my clues are in place in earlier scenes so that nothing feels too deus ex machina at the end, I’m feeling good. Really.

I’m a little worried about a few things: Is my enemy is too “off-page” and thus will not feel particularly threatening? Is there too much focus on one or two of the Triad guys, and not all of them equally? (Is that even a problem?)

This is why Beta Readers are the best thing ever invented.

The Short Stuff

I sent off something for May! Now it’s June. Crap.

Okay, well, I have a couple of things I’m working on. A threesome story is giving me trouble, and it might be a case of “save it to the ‘someday’ file” and scrapping it to start a different idea. That ‘someday’ file, by the way, is huge. HUGE.

I’m also toying with releasing a couple of short stories (or maybe a set of three short stories?) as e-only. Doing it myself, even. I have stories that have reverted to me – specifically, some erotica titles – and I’ve also got a couple of erotica pieces that were accepted but then the project flatlined, and the book didn’t move forward.

We’ll see. I’m still conflicted about doing the self-publishing thing.

Open Calls I know about:

  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is June 15th, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Defying Doomsday – apocalypse-survival fiction with a focus on disabled characters; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • The Engorged Book of Gay Vampire Stories – Reprints of gay vampire fiction; deadline August 1st, 2015.
  • Unconventional Love – Short romantic fiction that revolves around attending a convention; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Glitterwolf Magazine: Hallowe’en Issue – Dark, queer, weird or horror fiction, poetry, art and photography from (as per usual) LGBT contributors; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Covalent Bonds – Geeks in Love; deadline December 15th, 2015.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments, too.

    Leave a Reply

    