Writing Wednesday – Plot Bunnies

It’s always fun to learn a new term, but one of the ones I picked up through the Romancing the Capital is ‘Plot Bunnies.’ If you’ve never heard it before (don’t feel bad, I hadn’t) it’s the notion that while you’re working on thing the first, ideas for things the second through a billion pop up and demand attention. They reproduce like bunnies, those ideas, while you’re trying to focus on the first thing. Then, when you finally turn your attention to them – they’ve scampered and hidden in little holes. When you finally dig one out, and start working on it, those bunnies go into heat all over again and a thousand new plot bunnies romp around the meadow.

I love the term.

That happened to me a lot this last week, and I actually did something I never do and gave in for a couple of hours on the weekend to organize, capture the thoughts, and even sketch a very big overview of a YA idea that’s been hopping like the plot bunny it is in my face all week. If I’m still madly in love with it when I finish Triad Blood, I think it will be the next thing I pitch, because nothing is as terrifying as YA, right?

The Novel:

It’s getting so damn close to being a first draft I can taste it. I’ve got maybe 6,000 words left to go, and those words are mostly in transitions and to really polish off the denouement. I cannot tell you how exciting that is.

I also fell into a long whirlpool of website research on the Métis, and have learned that what I learned in high school and university was really, really poor.

I’m still somewhat worried about whether or not my antagonist is too “off-page” but I’m feeling better about how much print time the various three guys get in the book. I’ve still got one major decision to make about one of the supporting cast (the aforementioned Métis guy, actually), but it can wait until the last moment (which is what the character is doing, too.)

Then it’ll be time for Beta readers. Gah!

The Short Stuff

Haven’t sent anything off for June yet. Crap. Also, the contest I entered in May got back to me and no I did not win (which is fine, that’s not the point, the point was to enter something I was very uncomfortable writing – a flash piece).

I think I have now started three separate threesome stories that have gone too long. I need a much tighter idea. (Wait, that sounded wrong…) I can do this.

Onward to the calls…

Open Calls I know about:

  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is June 15th, 2015.
  • The Biggest Lover – Big-Boned Men’s Erotica for Chubs and Chasers; first draft June 1st, 2015; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Defying Doomsday – apocalypse-survival fiction with a focus on disabled characters; deadline July 1st, 2015.
  • Threesome: Him, Him, and Me – Matt Bright is editing for Lethe an erotic anthology dealing with one of the more adventurous of trysts, the threesome; deadline August 1st, 2015.
  • The Engorged Book of Gay Vampire Stories – Reprints of gay vampire fiction; deadline August 1st, 2015.
  • Unconventional Love – Short romantic fiction that revolves around attending a convention; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Glitterwolf Magazine: Hallowe’en Issue – Dark, queer, weird or horror fiction, poetry, art and photography from (as per usual) LGBT contributors; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Covalent Bonds – Geeks in Love; deadline December 15th, 2015.
  • Friends of Hyakinthos – Fantastical gay male-themed stories set during the time of Ancient Greece or involving Hellenism in later cultures; Deadline January 1st, 2016.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments, too.

    Leave a Reply

    