Writing Wednesday – By This Time Next Week…

This is Writing Wednesday, where I hold myself publicly accountable for how the writing is going. And this time? This time I’m even making a promise.

Okay, I’m going to say it out loud.

By this time next week, I will have completed the draft of Triad Blood that I’ll be then sending out to beta readers.

Woah.

That? Felt. Awesome.

Renovations being what they are (read: loud and constant interruptions) and my ability to focus being what it was (read: easily distracted by said loud and constant interruptions), I’m glad I was in the position I was in before the renovations began, as they slowed me down. A lot.

But – on the plus side – almost done.

The Novel

I’m going to clock in somewhere around 75k, which, given my estimate of 70k, surprised the heck out of me, though it shouldn’t. When I write short fiction, I’m almost always over my word count and then need to claw back. But with Light I came in under my estimate. And then, once edited, it was even lower. So, I’m taking this 75k with a truckload of salt. Any bets on going below 70k, once my editors look at it and remind me that “that” is a superfluous word most of the time?

(Also, see what I did there?)

I’m not gonna lie, guys, I’m also very nervous. I don’t know if my pacing is right. I don’t know if I’m screwing up with some of the characterizations. I don’t know if the big-bad is… well… big or bad enough. But beta readers are like gold (beta readers who’ll tell you what they hated are like platinum and diamonds), and I’ll be doing my best Elsa next week.

Phew.

The Short Stuff

So. Far. Behind.

And yet, ahead.

So, on the one hand, I’ve submitted three pieces (!) this month. One the other hand, none of them were for the ticking-clock deadlines that are approaching at the end of this month. That threesome story I’ve been working on is trying to kill me, and after that there’s a carnival theme I can’t quite wrap my head around, and… and…

Anyway. Also, I’m doing a giveaway for a copy of Discovery, the anthology of flash fiction LGBT sci-fi that includes my little story ‘Entangled.’ If you like LGBT sci-fi and fantasy and horror, and don’t mind reading stories that only make it to about 300 words? Go and click. You could win.

I’m also not going to lie – one of the most awesome things about nearing the end of Triad Blood is knowing I can refocus on some short fiction.

At least for a while, until the Beta folk tear Triad Blood to shreds hand me back its bloody corpse, upon which I will sprinkle the tattered remains of my ego.

*

Open Calls for Submission

Here are the calls for anthologies I have bumped into over the last while…

  • Hidden Youth: Speculative Fiction from the Margins of History – An anthology of YA historical fiction from the point of view of marginalized people; deadline July 31st, 2015.
  • Crazyshorts! Contest – You can enter with 1-3 short-shorts of up to 500 words each for $15 (which includes a subscription to Crazyhorse); deadline July 31st, 2015.
  • Solarpunk Dragon Anthology – Think dragons + steampunk + sustainability, diversity, and community; deadline July 31st, 2015.
  • Threesome: Him, Him, and Me – Matt Bright is editing for Lethe an erotic anthology dealing with one of the more adventurous of trysts, the threesome; deadline August 1st, 2015.
  • The Engorged Book of Gay Vampire Stories – Reprints of gay vampire fiction; deadline August 1st, 2015.
  • Torquere Press has quite a few themed submission calls up right now, the earliest deadline for which is August 15th, 2015.
  • Unconventional Love – Short romantic fiction that revolves around attending a convention; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • The Myriad Carnival – Nominally shared world carnival setting, LGBT; deadline August 31st, 2015
  • Glitterwolf Magazine: Hallowe’en Issue – Dark, queer, weird or horror fiction, poetry, art and photography from (as per usual) LGBT contributors; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Girls on Campus: Lesbian Erotica – College setting lesbian erotica. Erotic romance also accepted; deadline September 15th, 2015.
  • Burning Bright – An anthology looking for stories exploring the darker side of Shifter romance; deadline September 30th, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is September 15th, 2015.
  • Covalent Bonds – Geeks in Love; deadline December 15th, 2015.
  • Friends of Hyakinthos – Fantastical gay male-themed stories set during the time of Ancient Greece or involving Hellenism in later cultures; Deadline January 1st, 2016.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments, too.

    Leave a Reply

    