Writing Wednesday – Release Date!

The original title of this week’s Writing Wednesday was going to be “Now What?” As in, “what do I work on next?” I’m aware that I’m not done Triad Blood in the strict sense – it needs editing, fine tuning, etc. – but I’ve sent it out to Beta folk, and I usually stop and breathe for a bit after finishing a rough draft to consider the next project.

I’m in analysis paralysis right now – I have so many ideas, and I’m not sure what to pitch next. It doesn’t help that the endless renovation is endless – everything should have been done by now, but the wood floor we chose has been a nightmare to acquire. Home Depot, I’m glaring at you, buddy.

But instead of “Now What?” an e-mail from the always awesome Angry Librarian (a.k.a. Sandy Lowe) arrived with my actual release date.

The Novel

So, folks, I can now tell you that Triad Blood launches May 18th, 2016. This? This is exciting.

Triad Blood cover

I need to sit down and start planning all the things related to getting the word out and blogging and all that good stuff, but right now I’m just basking in the glow. I had no idea if I had it in me to write a novel within a year. Turns out I do.

Y’know, if I give up the day job.

The Short Stuff

Ah… well, I did submit three things last month, but as per the Jeffrey Ricker initiative, that means nothing now that the calendar page has flipped. It’s August now, and I need to get my butt in gear. I completely fizzled out on the threesome idea I was working on – I’m annoyed about that, as I think the kernel idea is a sound one, but as per usual I couldn’t get the word count right, and I was trying to fit too much in the space of a short narrative.

That said, there are still many calls for submission out there, and I shall apply myself to them.

Speaking of…

*

Open Calls for Submission I know about…

  • Torquere Press has quite a few themed submission calls up right now, the earliest deadline for which is August 15th, 2015.
  • Unconventional Love – Short romantic fiction that revolves around attending a convention; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • The Myriad Carnival – Nominally shared world carnival setting, LGBT; deadline August 31st, 2015
  • Glitterwolf Magazine: Hallowe’en Issue – Dark, queer, weird or horror fiction, poetry, art and photography from (as per usual) LGBT contributors; deadline August 31st, 2015.
  • Girls on Campus: Lesbian Erotica – College setting lesbian erotica. Erotic romance also accepted; deadline September 15th, 2015.
  • Burning Bright – An anthology looking for stories exploring the darker side of Shifter romance; deadline September 30th, 2015.
  • Bi Guys – Firsthand Fiction for Bisexual Men and their Admirers; synopsis September 1st, 2015; deadline October 1st, 2015.
  • Ink Stained Succubus – quite a few different calls, including M/f, F/m, M/M, and lots of different genre calls; earliest deadline is September 15th, 2015.
  • Men in Love – M/M Romance; deadline November 15th, 2015.
  • Covalent Bonds – Geeks in Love; deadline December 15th, 2015.
  • Friends of Hyakinthos – Fantastical gay male-themed stories set during the time of Ancient Greece or involving Hellenism in later cultures; Deadline January 1st, 2016.
  • Other places to always check include the Lambda Literary Calls of Submission page.

    Heard of any good calls lately? Pop ’em in the comments, too.

    Leave a Reply

    