If you’re a straight cisgender woman writing m/m romance, sorry, you are not striking a blow for equality

Bumped into this today, and it’s well-written and speaks more to that Identity -vs- Pseudonyms thing I was talking about a few weeks go, and says some of it much better than I did.

A Trick of Light

Stahp

Just to get my argument clear in the headline.

A lot of things have prompted this, and nothing in particular has. The truth is that this is something I’ve been feeling for a while. It’s something I’ve wrestled with a bit, given that two of the novels and two of the novellas I’ve sold have been marketed as m/m romance, though I’m not cisgender, nor am I straight. It’s something I’ve gotten shades of since I started really being aware of m/m romance as a genre, and since I started understanding the uglier side of it, it’s something I’ve come to understand features heavily in a lot of parts of the slashy areas of fandom. In fact, if something in particular prompted this little tantrum – aside from some very self-congratulatory stuff I’ve seen recently about standard m/m romance doing exactly what I said it isn’t doing up there in…

View original post 957 more words

Leave a Reply

