Keeping Christmas Tales Shiny and New

I love tales retold cleverly.

For a very long time, though, I was not one who loved Christmas in a traditional sense. Especially not the carols and stories that I got to hear over, and over, and over. There’s only so many times you can hear about that little Drummer Boy before you want to shove his drumsticks right up his pa-rum-pum-pum-pum. Working retail often leaves much of the “ho-ho-ho” replaced by “go-go-go” and the end result is being tired of it all. I made it a point to find new traditions for myself and my family and friends whereby I could enjoy small pieces of the holiday as much as possible – and finding “The Firflake” was one of those moments that brought a fresh breath to the season.
Firflake
The Firflake is a lovely story, taking pieces of Christmas tales and turning them just a little sideways, so the light can shine on them from a new angle – one that’s refreshing and cheerful from the new point of view.

The characters are charming, the magic sparkles in the words, and I finished the tale – which is more like a half dozen tales woven together into a whole – with a genuine smile on my face, over the course of a few nights reading. I have to recommend that, frankly, and I honestly think parents looking for something to read their kids other than that freaking Rudolph or Frosty story one more time would find The Firflake at least a week’s respite from the same-old, same-old. And the stories really do have that right touch of joy to them.

I’m no Grinch these days (heading into my second non-retail Christmas since I was kid is making me a bit giddy), but I still need to work on my Christmas cheer. Anthony Cardno delivered a book of cheer. As far as I’m concerned, the Firflake has earned a place front and centre with the older traditional Christmas stories, where it can shine every year.

And bring relief to those over-exposed to the same darn stories.

What about you? What are some of your favourite Christmas Stories (be they classic, or newer)? Let me know – I’m always looking for more ways to freshen up my holiday joy.

Leave a Reply

