Writing Wednesday – Back on Track

Husband is back at work, and I’m back at the keyboard. I had a rougher day writing yesterday, but even then I made my goals, so things are more or less back on track.

Exciting things, however!

Triad Blood coverFirst: the Bold Strokes Books website had a relaunch, and it’s so pretty! Also, there’s a store-wide 10% off sale on current available titles, so it’s the perfect time to indulge (that includes Light being 10% off, by the way).
Second: this relaunch also includes a lot of listings for upcoming titles, and the ability to pre-order ebooks, and that includes (drumroll please!) Triad Blood! So. Stoked.

Among the various anthologies in which I have stories being on sale, Bold Strokes Books has some even deeper discounted: the paperbacks of quite a few are $4.99 to begin with (!) and a further 10% off. To whit:

The Novel(s)

Other than the awesome news above about the preorder listing, I’m awaiting edits for Triad Blood and am writing Triad Soul. Things are progressing: I hit 5,155 words yesterday for the month of January so far, and given my goal is 10,000 words a month, that’s slightly ahead of schedule, but all the more awesome since I wrote next to nothing the first week of January due to holidays. Life is good.

Also, so far I haven’t had a single character go without a name for any amount of time. This is huge progress for me. Seriously.

The Short Stuff

I have a Q&A coming up on Sunday with Tom Cardamone which I’m excited to share with y’all, and today I’m going to be sitting down and working on some short fiction for one of the calls below and/or my own stuff. I haven’t submitted anything for January yet, so I’m starting to feel a bit itchy about that.

The anthologies in which I have a story that are launching this year are starting to show up in Goodreads and on publisher and e-tailer websites, which is exciting. I promise I’ll yell and wave and dance as they become available (though, again, on Bold Strokes’s site, you can pre-order the e-book for Men in Love: M/M Romance).

I have quite a few short stories coming out this year, which is exciting given that the novel will also be happening. When I wrote Light, my short fiction output dropped off to nearly nil, and Light was released with a giant vacuum thereafter. I’m glad Jeffrey Ricker gave me that kick in the pants I needed to force myself to carve out time for short fiction last year. He’s a giver. I’ll keep it up as best I can.


 

Open Calls I Know About (and find tempting)…

  • Kagema’s Sons – Stories of hustlers, rent boys, role-players or other love (or sex) for hire, Ink Stained Succubus, Deadline: January 15th, 2016.
  • Friends of Hyakinthos – Fantastical gay male-themed stories set during the time of Ancient Greece or involving Hellenism in later cultures, deadline January 30th, 2016.
  • Theory of Love – Pocket protectors and sexy nerds? Sci-Fi (and/or geeky) Romance, Torquere Press, Deadline: February 15th, 2016.
  • Less Than Dead – Tales of zombies, be they the enemy, the ally, or something else entirely, Less than Three Press, Deadline: February 28th, 2016.
  • Men at Work – Tales of erotic gay workplace romance, JMS Books, Deadline: February 29th, 2016.
  • Gents: Steamy Tales from the Age of Steam – Gay male erotica set during the Victorian/Edwardian era, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Novella Call – The Book Smugglers, Deadline: May 30th, 2016.
  • Animal Magnetism – Tales of men drawn together over their love of animals, JMS Books, Deadline: July 31st, 2016.

Don’t forget to check the Lambda Literary site for more calls, as well as the Queer Sci-Fi calls for submission page (always a trove!)

Leave a Reply

