Writing Wednesday – Ice, Ice, Puppy

 

It’s awful outside right now. Ice rain is coating everything, and the temperature is vacillating up and down enough that it’s like a wet skating rink. If you’re local, and you don’t have to be outside, don’t go outside.

The dog, apparently, had to go outside. I tried to let him just out into the back yard, but he gave me a “Seriously?” look, and refused. So, coat, jacket, gloves, leash, boots and out we went. Very unpleasant, to say the least. But he did his business and then immediately turned around to go home, so I think he clued in it wasn’t a winter wonderland of fun after all.

downloadWhat is wonderful, however, is this awesome news: Because I was a runner-up for the Saints & Sinners Literary Festival short fiction contest, Bold Strokes Books put my novel Light up at a discount of 20%. Also, the winner of the contest, Jerry Rabushka, is also a Bold Strokes author, and his latest novel, The Prophecy, is likewise on sale. This is just one of many reasons why I love my publisher.

(And in case you’re curious, the collection of short fiction that was gathered from this contest will be released in April, and you can pre-order it here.)

The Novel(s)

Work on Triad Soul went much better week. I didn’t quite hit my 10k for January, but I’m back on track and gaining up what I lost now that I’m in February. Also, I learned Scrivener has a way to track word-counts and make adaptable goals as you go. This? Huge. I’m such a “goal” nerd, and having it tracked for me is a huge, huge deal.

The only thing left for Triad Blood now is the line edits, and when I get those, I’ll be dancing in a circle and whooping. I do need to start thinking promotion, too, as May will be here before you know it. There’s some extra awesome news about Triad Blood that I can’t quite announce yet, so that’ll have to wait for another day.

The Short Stuff

My Q&A project proceeds apace for The Biggest Lover, Threesome, Men in Love, and Not Just Another Pretty Face. I think I’ll have posts ready to go all the way through to June at the rate I’m getting responses from authors, but that’s a good thing. Once I get within sight of the end of them, I’ll start hunting for anthologies to talk about in the latter half of the year.

I did submit something in the last hours of January. It’s not the typical thing, but it involved writing, so I’m calling it a win.

On to February!


Open Calls I Know About (and find tempting)…

  • Theory of Love – Pocket protectors and sexy nerds? Sci-Fi (and/or geeky) Romance, Torquere Press, Deadline: February 15th, 2016.
  • Less Than Dead – Tales of zombies, be they the enemy, the ally, or something else entirely, Less than Three Press, Deadline: February 28th, 2016.
  • Men at Work – Tales of erotic gay workplace romance, JMS Books, Deadline: February 29th, 2016.
  • Transcendent – Short, speculative fiction published in 2015 (ie: reprints) that features transgender characters, Lethe Press, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • Gents: Steamy Tales from the Age of Steam – Gay male erotica set during the Victorian/Edwardian era, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Survivor – SF/F anthology looking for stories of everyday trauma survival, Lethe Press, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Magic and Mayhem – Mage/cyborg or tattoo artist/soldier stories (very specific, but it’s for a charity anthology, details at the link), Gay Romance Northwest, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • Novella Call – The Book Smugglers, Deadline: May 30th, 2016.
  • Animal Magnetism – Tales of men drawn together over their love of animals, JMS Books, Deadline: July 31st, 2016.

Don’t forget to check the Lambda Literary site for more calls, as well as the Queer Sci-Fi calls for submission page (always a trove!)

Leave a Reply

