Writing Wednesday – The Super Secret Awesome Thing Revealed

It’s snowing again, and it snowed a lot last week and I don’t even want to think about Drumpf, but I have a good news thing, so I’m going to talk about the good news thing and ignore the snow and the Drumpf.

The good thing? This.

three_300dpiBefore anything else, can we just say “Yum?” Because Yum. Yowza.

Okay, what that is right there is “Three.” “Three,” some of you lovely readers may recall, is the short story that introduced Luc, Anders, and Curtis, the three fellows that make up the Triad in my releasing-in-May novel Triad Blood. “Three” originally appeared in Blood Sacraments, a collection of Gay Vampire Erotica edited by Todd Gregory for Bold Strokes Books.

That’s Luc on the cover, by the way. Hello, Luc.

Here’s the blurb: With three nights to satiate his blood thirst, Luc can’t waste time with rival demon Anders, but when both pick a strangely resistant prey, success requires the unthinkable: working together.

I had an idea that it might be neat to give anyone who preordered a copy of Triad Blood a free e-copy of “Three,” if that was something Bold Strokes Books could do, and I pitched it to them, and instead of that, the awesome publishing machine that is Bold Strokes Books did me about a dozen times better. Anyone who buys any e-book from Bold Strokes Books in the entire month of May will receive “Three” for free.

I cannot tell you how freaking happy this makes me. I love my BSB peeps so freaking much.

Even better, it looks like this will be a revisited marketing tool – the following month, you’ll be able to get Sandy Lowe‘s “Party Games” the same way.

But Wait, There’s More!

It’s not just Bold Strokes Books with the good news.

Lethe SaleLethe Press is celebrating its fifteenth birthday (in some states I think that means you can finally marry it) and to celebrate all the e-books, for the entirety of March, are $1.50 each (with a minimum purchase of three: that’s $4.50 for three awesome ebooks).

You totally need to take advantage of this. And, because I feel no shame in pointing out anthologies in which I have a story because that supports the editors and other authors as much as it supports me, I shall make list said anthologies below, in case you wished to stock up on those awesome books in which yours truly has a wee story despite the book being so awesome.

“Vanilla” appears in Threesome: Him, Him, and Me, edited by Matthew Bright; “A Slice of Pi” appears in The Biggest Lover, edited by R. Jackson; “Wind and Tree” appears in Tales from the Den, edited by R. Jackson; “Time and Tide” appears in The Touch of the Sea, edited by Steve Berman; “The Psychometry of Snow” appears in Bears of Winter, edited by Jerry L. Wheeler; and “Aiming to Please” appears in Tented, edited by Jerry L. Wheeler.

I didn’t turn those into links, because the deal is added to the cart from the home page (the link you’ll see if you click “Lethe Press” above), and you need to list the titles and formats you’re looking for. The instructions are all there.

Oh, And One More Thing!

I know, I know, I go on and on today, right?

I’ve got a “save-the-date” for the launch of Triad Blood now. It will be at After Stonewall, here in Ottawa, on Thursday the 12th of May. More details as they become available, but that’s the evening in question. If you went to my launch for Light, and you have any feedback, please, please say so. I’m a big boy, and I can take constructive criticism.

But I should point out I probably can’t arrange another collapsing audience member. I think I can’t repeat that particular incident, regardless of how exciting it was.

The Novel(s)

Triad Blood coverHello March!

So, new month, new goal. By the end of the month, I want to be at least 30k into Triad Soul. I’m on track, and I’m loving being on track, but I know I’ve got some away time this month, so I need to be diligent.

 

Noise-making set up so far includes a blog entry for the release at QSF, the awesomeness that is “Three,” the BSB blog date (I need to write the darn blog, but at least my spot is booked), and the launch date is set.

Obviously, I’ve got more to put together, but I’m happy I’ve at least begun the process. Fingers crossed I can keep up the momentum as well as work on everything else at the same time. Woo-woo! All aboard…

The Short Stuff

I missed the last day of February for submitting something that month, so I’ll double-up this month and call it even. It happens, and I’m not going to beat myself up over it. The last couple of days of February just hit me with a whammy or two, and that’s okay.

The Q&As are still going strong, and the Matthew Bright one this last weekend was the most successful yet in terms of traffic and readership. I like this project, and I’m glad I took it on and left it to “one a week.” I’d originally thought about two or three authors a Sunday, but no. This is better.


Open Calls I Know About (and find tempting)…

  • Transcendent – Short, speculative fiction published in 2015 (ie: reprints) that features transgender characters, Lethe Press, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • The Alice Munro Short Story Contest – Short fiction, entry price, Deadline: April 1st, 2016.
  • Gents: Steamy Tales from the Age of Steam – Gay male erotica set during the Victorian/Edwardian era, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Survivor – SF/F anthology looking for stories of everyday trauma survival, Lethe Press, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Magic and Mayhem – Mage/cyborg or tattoo artist/soldier stories (very specific, but it’s for a charity anthology, details at the link), Gay Romance Northwest, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • Novella Call – The Book Smugglers, Deadline: May 30th, 2016.
  • Animal Magnetism – Tales of men drawn together over their love of animals, JMS Books, Deadline: July 31st, 2016.
  • A Scandal in Gomorrah: Queering Sherlock Holmes – Queering the canon or something more transformational, Lethe Press, Deadline: January 1, 2017.

Don’t forget to check the Lambda Literary site for more calls, as well as the Queer Sci-Fi calls for submission page (always a trove!)

Leave a Reply

