Writing Wednesday – Proofs Postive

 

It’s been a great week. Not in the word-count department, for reasons that shall become clear, but in pretty much every other way.

The word-count thing got derailed on account of two things: one was my birthday, and I had a grand time with some great friends and a board game. The other was the page proofs arriving for Triad Blood, which meant I dove into those for every free moment to try and hunt down the elusive typo monsters. I sent that off this morning, and this means the book is now completely out of my hands. The next time I see it? It will be an actual book in my actual hands and wow, I can’t wait. I’m hitting so many ups and downs about this book it’s insane, but right now, I just can’t wait to see it.

Speaking of Birthdays…

Lethe SaleLethe Press is celebrating its fifteenth birthday (my birthday was for a considerably higher number) and to celebrate all the e-books, for the entirety of March, are $1.50 each (with a minimum purchase of three: that’s $4.50 for three awesome ebooks).

You totally need to take advantage of this. And, because I feel no shame in pointing out anthologies in which I have a story because that supports the editors and other authors as much as it supports me, I shall make list said anthologies below, in case you wished to stock up on those awesome books in which yours truly has a wee story despite the book being so awesome.

“Vanilla” appears in Threesome: Him, Him, and Me, edited by Matthew Bright; “A Slice of Pi” appears in The Biggest Lover, edited by R. Jackson; “Wind and Tree” appears in Tales from the Den, edited by R. Jackson; “Time and Tide” appears in The Touch of the Sea, edited by Steve Berman; “The Psychometry of Snow” appears in Bears of Winter, edited by Jerry L. Wheeler; and “Aiming to Please” appears in Tented, edited by Jerry L. Wheeler.

Launch News!

For those asking about the launch of Triad Blood, I now have the official launch party event posted over on Facebook, right here. It will be at After Stonewall, here in Ottawa, on Thursday the 12th of May. More details are available through the event link. If you went to my launch for Light, and you have any feedback, please, please say so. I’m a big boy, and I can take constructive criticism.

But I should point out I probably can’t arrange another collapsing audience member. I think I can’t repeat that particular incident, regardless of how exciting it was.

The Novel(s)

Triad Blood coverSo, as I said, not a great writing word count week, what with the proofs. By the end of the month, I want to be at least 30k into Triad Soul. I’m a smidge behind that target, and I know I’ve got some away time this month, so I need to be diligent.

Noise-making set up so far includes a blog entry for the release at QSF, the awesomeness that is “Three,” the BSB blog date (I need to write the darn blog, but at least my spot is booked), and the launch.

I still need to do quite a bit more, but, again, this week got derailed by proofs. And also the blurb and cover information for Triad Soul forms showed up at the same time, so I had those to work on,

The Short Stuff

 

Yeah, see above re: page proofs.

I’ll get back on track. Truly.


Open Calls I Know About (and find tempting)…

  • Transcendent – Short, speculative fiction published in 2015 (ie: reprints) that features transgender characters, Lethe Press, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • The Alice Munro Short Story Contest – Short fiction, entry price, Deadline: April 1st, 2016.
  • Gents: Steamy Tales from the Age of Steam – Gay male erotica set during the Victorian/Edwardian era, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Survivor – SF/F anthology looking for stories of everyday trauma survival, Lethe Press, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Magic and Mayhem – Mage/cyborg or tattoo artist/soldier stories (very specific, but it’s for a charity anthology, details at the link), Gay Romance Northwest, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • Novella Call – The Book Smugglers, Deadline: May 30th, 2016.
  • Animal Magnetism – Tales of men drawn together over their love of animals, JMS Books, Deadline: July 31st, 2016.
  • A Scandal in Gomorrah: Queering Sherlock Holmes – Queering the canon or something more transformational, Lethe Press, Deadline: January 1, 2017.

Don’t forget to check the Lambda Literary site for more calls, as well as the Queer Sci-Fi calls for submission page (always a trove!)

Leave a Reply

