Writing Wednesday – Bags are Packed

 

Tomorrow, at what can best be described as “Oh-My-Gods O’Clock” I’ll be at the airport awaiting my flight to the Saints & Sinners Literary Festival.

I. Can’t. Wait.

For one, it’s like a creative battery recharge. I get so much out of being around all the wonderful creative types, I cannot tell you. It’s a festival about queer folk and writing. I’m not sure I can explain how wonderful it is to be in an environment like that.

Now, if you were to look at the upcoming program guide, you’ll see I have one heck of a busy day on Saturday. Here’s where I’ll be, and what I’ll be doing:

What’s The Plan, ‘Nathan?

Saturday April 2nd, 1 PM – CREATURES OF THE NIGHT

If writers are supposed to “write what you know”—how do you create supernatural beings like vampires and werewolves and witches, oh my? Can you make up your own rules, or do you have to follow in the footsteps of those who have gone before? Once considered a “low” genre, horror has redefined itself over the last few decades, expanding in many different directions, and has taken on topics and themes once considered the purview of “high literature.” Join us as we talk about redefining the field of paranormal fiction, and the difficulties LGBTQ writers face as they work to get their voices heard.

Panelists: N.S. Beranek, ‘Nathan Burgoine, Mary Griggs, Jerry Rabushka, and Jeffrey Ricker. Moderator: Candice Huber. Hotel Monteleone, Royal Salon C.

Saturday April 2nd, 4 PM  – SAINTS AND SINNERS READING SERIES: WRITERS READ

Special edition featuring contributors from the new anthology Not Just Another Pretty Face edited by Louis Flint Ceci (Beautiful Dreamer Press). The stories and poems in this collection are paired with photographs of male go-go dancers by San Francisco based photographer Dot (Tom Schmidt). Contributors discuss and read from this exciting new work.

Speakers: ‘Nathan Burgoine, Louis Flint Ceci, Dot (Tom Schmidt), Jeff Mann, Mike McClelland, and David Pratt. Hotel Monteleone, Cabildo Room Sponsored by The John Burton Harter Charitable Trust.

Saturday April 2nd, 6:30 PM – HOTEL MONTELEONE, VIEUX CARRE ROOM

(Included in weekend pass or $25 individual ticket.)

Join this year’s contest-winner Jerry Rabushka, runners-up ‘Nathan Burgoine and Vince Sgambati, along with finalists Rich Barnett, Aaron Hamburger and Carol Rosenfeld for an evening of cocktails and readings from Saints and Sinners 2016: New Fiction from the Festival hosted by Amie M. Evans. This event benefits the Festival and the NO/AIDS Task Force. Audience members for the book launch reading receive a copy of the anthology published by Bold Strokes Books. Special thanks to The John Burton Harter Charitable Trust and Bolds Strokes Books for their support of the Short Fiction Contest.

So, yeah. I’ll be busy on the Saturday. Hopefully my voice holds out to the end there, when I’m reading a story told in the voice of a drag queen on death row.

Neat Plans, But Fess Up – You Fell Behind, Didn’t You?

Every Wednesday, I hold myself accountable for the writing from the last seven days. So. Yeah. Didn’t make it to 30k on the novel this month. But I did send out a short fiction piece, so… half-win?

Oh, and Tomorrow is the Last Day for…

Lethe SaleLethe Press is celebrating its fifteenth birthday and to celebrate all the e-books, for the entirety of March, are $1.50 each (with a minimum purchase of three: that’s $4.50 for three awesome ebooks). Awesome spec-fic tales have never been so wonderfully priced.

I always feel awkward doing self promotion, but I feel no shame in pointing out anthologies in which I have a story because that supports the editors and other authors as much as it supports me. I shall make list said anthologies below, in case you wished to stock up on those awesome books in which yours truly has a wee story despite the book being so awesome.

“Vanilla” appears in Threesome: Him, Him, and Me, edited by Matthew Bright; “A Slice of Pi” appears in The Biggest Lover, edited by R. Jackson; “Wind and Tree” appears in Tales from the Den, edited by R. Jackson; “Time and Tide” appears in The Touch of the Sea, edited by Steve Berman; “The Psychometry of Snow” appears in Bears of Winter, edited by Jerry L. Wheeler; and “Aiming to Please” appears in Tented, edited by Jerry L. Wheeler.

Yet Another Reminder to Respond to the Launch RSVP!

Triad Blood coverThe launch of Triad Blood event posted is over on Facebook, right here. It will be at After Stonewall, here in Ottawa, on Thursday the 12th of May. More details are available through the event link. If you went to my launch for Light, and you have any feedback, please, please say so. I’m a big boy, and I can take constructive criticism. If you’d like to come, make sure you RSVP, as the owner has to watch for capacity laws.

I should point out that last time I had someone pass out at the event, but we had lesbian combat medics on hand to handle it, so as far as good-news/bad-news went, it all worked out. I don’t intend to have anyone collapse at this event, but if they do, don’t worry. I invited my lesbian combat medic friends. Never launch books without them.

The Novel(s)

I wanted to be at least 30k into Triad Soul by the end of March, and… no. Close, but no cigar. It’s possible I’ll get to about 28k by the end of the day, but given pre-flying jitters, not super-likely. It happens. I’ll catch up.

Self-promotion front wite, I’ve got two interviews lined up now for Triad Blood.  I’m also going to do a guest blog, which is exciting (and a first). And! I may be coming to a podcast. Yep, you’ll be able to hear my horrible, horrible voice. I might even stutter. I’ve set up a Goodreads giveaway to go live in April (one for Men in Love, too).

Also, I have the actual digital copy of “Three” now, which is so freaking awesome. It’s really going to be a thing. Also, someone read it and reviewed it on Goodreads, which is sort of awesome.

All that added to a blog entry for the release at QSF, and the BSB blog date (I need to write the darn blog, but at least my spot is booked), and the launch party.

Writing books is way more than writing books, y’all.

The Short Stuff

Now that “Negative Space” is out there, I need to pick a new short fiction piece to be working on. I did more work on the second Village Stories novella, and I truly need to figure out a plan for that.

Any advice for novella writers, folks?


Open Calls I Know About (and find tempting)…

  • Transcendent – Short, speculative fiction published in 2015 (ie: reprints) that features transgender characters, Lethe Press, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • The Alice Munro Short Story Contest – Short fiction, entry price, Deadline: April 1st, 2016.
  • Queer Planet – Strange Horizons Magazine, Deadline: April 10th, 2016.
  • Dark Captive (Manlove Edition) – Alpha Men, Evernight Publishing, Deadline: April 15th, 2016.
  • Gents: Steamy Tales from the Age of Steam – Gay male erotica set during the Victorian/Edwardian era, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Survivor – SF/F anthology looking for stories of everyday trauma survival, Lethe Press, Deadline: May 1st, 2016.
  • Magic and Mayhem – Mage/cyborg or tattoo artist/soldier stories (very specific, but it’s for a charity anthology, details at the link), Gay Romance Northwest, Deadline: March 31st, 2016.
  • Novella Call – The Book Smugglers, Deadline: May 30th, 2016.
  • Animal Magnetism – Tales of men drawn together over their love of animals, JMS Books, Deadline: July 31st, 2016.
  • This Wish Tonight – Holiday M/M Genre romance, Mischief Corner Books, Deadline: August 1, 2016.
  • A Scandal in Gomorrah: Queering Sherlock Holmes – Queering the canon or something more transformational, Lethe Press, Deadline: January 1, 2017.

Don’t forget to check the Lambda Literary site for more calls, as well as the Queer Sci-Fi calls for submission page (always a trove!)

4 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday – Bags are Packed

Leave a Reply

