Writing Wednesday – Sequel Fuel

(Couldn’t help it. Needed to post that trailer again because: SO SHINY.)

Ahem.

Wow. What an awesome couple of days. First off, there are reviews coming in for Triad Blood and they’ve all been positive and I know that won’t last forever but right now, it’s gold. More than that, many of the positive reviews have said the thing that I was hoping they’d say the most: some version of ‘I hope there are more.’

Given that I’m working on Triad Soul right now? That’s fuel.

I’ve got a tonne to do today and this week (there’s so much on my horizon this month it’s a bit overwhelming), but it’s an embarrassment of riches, and I’m happy to be in the position. I’m going to be at Romancing the Capital starting Friday, and there’s the book launch coming up, too. You can read about all of that here.

The Novel

The point of my ‘Writing Wednesdays’ posts is to bring myself to public accountability for how the writing is going. Well, April was not stellar, for quite a few reasons, but my awesome neighbour (who is a painter) pointed out sometimes you need to recharge a creative battery, and so I gave myself permission to stop for a few days at the end of the month and just germinate.

End result? So far for my writing total for Triad Soul has been 2,800 words in two days. And I still feel the itch of other scenes and plot points and I feel back-on-track. I know there are authors out there who tell you you must write, every day, but… no. That’s not me. I work on the novel Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays specifically because I know I can burn out easily on a project. Wednesdays are a palate cleanser of short fiction or other projects, and that’s been damned good to me, and I’ll keep on truckin’ that way.

The Short Stuff

three_300dpi

“Three” is free right now with a purchase, and will be $0.99 after May ends.

Of course, I should remind everyone right now that I’ve got a short that’s available free with any purchase of any e-book from Bold Strokes Books. “Three” is the erotic short story that introduced the characters who became my first ‘repeat’ characters. The guys in “Three” are the main characters in Triad Blood, and if you go to Bold Strokes Books’s webstore and pick up any e-title, you can opt-in for “Three” for free. It prompts you automatically at the basket stage.

That deal ends at the end of the month, so if you’re curious, you’ve got a few weeks left to decide.

Now, other short stuff…

I had a breakthrough on a couple of small pieces during my “mental vacation” and I’m throwing myself back at two short fiction projects right now. I also managed to submit something in April, which goes back to my “submit something at least once a month” challenge.

The reality of novel-writing and short fiction writing that I’m often bumping up against is accessibility for readers. I don’t write novels fast enough to have a lot available, and though I’ve got dozens of short pieces out there (I think three dozen now?) only “Three” is available solo at the moment.

So, my plan was to find a sweet-spot in between. Short novellas I could work on, and release, and fill in that “middle” void I’ve got. I’d like to offer a $2.00 e-novella, and I’m working on it. Or rather, I’m working on them. I’ve got two contenders right now that are almost ready for me to track down an editor.

One is sweet (no smut), the other is smutty (and still maybe a little sweet). I’d like to try them both, frankly, but we’ll see what happens. Ideally, I can see which of the two might react better, and work on follow-ups to that series a bit more than the other, but both are definitely series and both projects I want to explore.


Open Calls I Know About (and find tempting)…

Don’t forget to check the Lambda Literary site for more calls, as well as the Queer Sci-Fi calls for submission page (always a trove!)

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday – Sequel Fuel

  1. LOVE the trailer, Nathan! I’m not much for paranormal stories but I might make an exception for Triad Blood. I enjoyed Light very much and all the excerpts I’ve read with Luc, Anders and Curtis featured have been quite intriguing…

    See you at RTC tomorrow 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

