Writing Wednesday – Back to Reality

It feels a little like coming off a vacation to come home from Romancing the Capital. I did my walkthrough of the event yesterday, and I have to admit to still feeling like I’ve crashed back down to Earth. It’s always like that after great events.

So! Since last week how have things been? Well, reviews for Triad Blood have been positive, I’ve got the launch tomorrow (ack!) and I was above my word-count goal every day last week. Score. Getting back in gear after the conference, but I’m still moving.

Also, I’m up today at Joyfully Jay, where you’ve got a shot at winning a copy if you visit and comment. Drop by and say ‘hello!’

The Novel

The point of my ‘Writing Wednesdays’ posts is to bring myself to public accountability for how the writing is going. As of right now, I’ve broken the 31k mark, and I’m aiming high for the rest of the month. Fingers crossed. I’ve also figured out which threads to tangle in Triad Soul and a few things that are being moved into Triad Magic (the nebulous third book I’ve got kinda-sorta planned for the boys), and that seems to have helped me keep things going strong.

Also, because it’s so damn lovely, here’s the trailer again for Triad Blood.


The Short Stuff

three_300dpi

“Three” is free right now with a purchase, and will be $0.99 after May ends.

It’s still May, so I should remind everyone right now that I’ve got a short that’s available free with any purchase of any e-book from Bold Strokes Books. “Three” is the erotic short story that introduced the characters who became my first ‘repeat’ characters. The guys in “Three” are the main characters in Triad Blood, and if you go to Bold Strokes Books’s webstore and pick up any e-title, you can opt-in for “Three” for free. It prompts you automatically at the basket stage.

That deal ends at the end of the month, so if you’re curious, you’ve got a couple of weeks left to decide.

I should also note I’ve made progress on the ‘Village’ novella I was talking about last week (which is now ready for beta folk to take a peek at it). This is the non-smutty novella I’ve been working on, and I’m excited to see what might come of it. Even better, at Romancing the Capital, I got some great tips, tricks, and pointers from some awesome writers of novellas, and that gave me some courage to really make sure I don’t drop the ball on this notion of mine.

As for the smuttier idea? Still working on that novella, and should plug away at it some more today.

 


Open Calls I Know About (and find tempting)…

Don’t forget to check the Lambda Literary site for more calls, as well as the Queer Sci-Fi calls for submission page (always a trove!)

Leave a Reply

