Sunday Shorts – “Men in Love” Q&A with Dale Cameron Lowry

Men In LoveToday I’m going to try valiantly to not eat baked goods while I chat with my next author for Sunday Shorts. He wrote a romantic piece that centres around a reality baking show, and I gotta tell you, I love baked goods as much as I love a good steamy romance, so it took a lot of willpower not to whip up a batch of raspberry snackle or lemon squares after reading this one. Come and join me for a chat with Dale Cameron Lowry about his story from  Men in Love. Bring a napkin.

Spring approaches with the promise of new beginnings, fresh adventures, and the thrill of romance rekindled or discovered. Hot, sexy guys abound—meeting on the ball fields or the boardroom, at the theater or the classroom—falling in love and lust for the first time or celebrating a lifetime. Come join the rites of spring and indulge yourself in the passion and pleasures of our luscious men in love. Stories from some of today’s popular m/m romance authors explore the many faces of men in love: gay for you, seductions, weddings and more.


NB: Men in Love has a wide range of themes and tones throughout the collection, and it always strikes me as fascinating to know how different authors approach a theme, especially since ‘Romance’ is such a wide net. Case in point: you delivered a “rivals-to-lovers” story set in a reality TV baking show. To blurb it:

Baking is a way of life for Joey, a young pastry chef vying for first place in the popular reality show American Master Bakers. But the judges have been showing favouritism to Terence, an aggravatingly attractive older man with more experience under his belt. When the competition gets hot, so do the two men. Dough’s not the only think to rise in this kitchen.

First, awesome blurb. Second, What sparked the story?

DCL: My partner and I can agree on very few TV shows outside of reality cooking competitions. In the American ones, the producers tend to ramp up the tension between contestants, even if it’s just for show. Competitive tension is easy to interpret as sexual tension. Often I find myself yelling at the screen, “Oh, make out already!” I figured it was time to write a story where exactly that happens.

NB: You have no idea how happy it makes me you yell that at the screen. My husband often regards me with what I hope is amusement when I’m yelling, “kiss him!” Also, baking shows are awesome, since they mean cakes and treats. I am so down with cakes and treats. Are you generally a fan of sweeter stories, or do you prefer spice?

DCL: It really depends on the story. I read a lot of straight-up erotica, and especially love it when it’s unique and character-driven. In romances, I like sex scenes to further the plot and/or character development. A lot of erotic romance novels do this well. But if the sex scenes aren’t integral to the story, I often feel like they’re interrupting it, even if the scene is well-written.

As a writer, I enjoy writing everything from sweet to sizzling.

NB: This isn’t your first short fiction, and when I see authors who love the format I can’t help but ask: what anthology theme are you dying to see and contribute to that you haven’t seen yet?

DCL: Queer Mormon scuba divers on other planets? Clearly I have arcane interests.

NB: … I’d read that.

If you want to nab a copy of Men in Love for yourself, you can get it directly from the publisher, Bold Strokes Books, here. Otherwise, you can always use Indiebound to look for your closest brick-and-mortar, or visit any store where quality LGBT books are sold.


Dale Cameron Lowry lives in the Upper Midwest with a partner and three cats, one of whom enjoys eating dish towels, quilts, and wool socks. It’s up to you to guess whether the fabric eater is one of the cats or the partner. When not busy mending items destroyed by the aforementioned fabric eater, Dale enjoys wasting time on Tumblr, listening to Mormon-related podcasts, studying anatomy and physiology, getting annoyed at Duolingo, and reading fairy tales.

You can also find Dale on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Pinterest, and, of course, Amazon.

Leave a Reply

