Writing Wednesday – Cover Me, I’m Going In

 

The day you get to see your cover is a big deal. I’m sure other authors you know have told you that. It’s magic. It’s amazing.

And it’s painful to have a draft of said cover and not be able to share it yet.

Gah!


Exit Plans for Teenage Freaks

After my unexpected trip to Hawai’i, I’ve been playing catch-up (I feel like I say that a lot, but… well… yeah I just say that a lot). That said, it’s amazing how restorative it was to be somewhere warm and bright and colourful.

So. Yeah. Back on track. It’s the new 30’s. Or whatever.


Of Echoes Born / Short Pieces

I have finished figuring out which stories go in the collection, and have planned and plotted out the ones I need to write still.

And because I’m in a great mood and I saw the draft of the cover of this collection today, here’s a tiny snippet from the mind of Ian Simon, one of the characters in the stories. He’s a psychic who can see the emotions of people around him, as well as sometimes pick up images of the past or future from things or people he touches.

Love isn’t red. That’s probably the first thing to know.

Despite what the greeting card companies would have you believe red has nothing to do with love. Love isn’t pink either, or fuchsia, or violet, or lavender, or any other shade from the Valentine’s Day rainbow.

Love is also more than just a colour, which I hope isn’t a surprise.

Start with the pale blue of a robin’s egg. Add the texture of feathers in a newborn chick, and the motion of a hunting bird in flight. Once you’ve got that soft, gentle blue soaring in wide circles, imagine all of it glowing from deep inside the chest and shining behind the eyes. Picture it reaching out from one person to another, and being met with the same light.

Got it? That’s love.

I have seen love in the elderly and the young. I have seen it in the weak, and the brave. I have seen it in the last moments of a dying woman, and within just hours of a baby’s birth. I’ve even seen it in the eyes of a dog.

But so far, I haven’t seen it in the eyes of someone looking at me.


Open Calls for Submission

On Writing Wednesday I try to include my list off all the various open calls for submission I’ve found and/or am trying to write for. If you know of any others, by all means do drop them in the comments and I’ll add them to the list. If this is helpful for people other than myself, it’s even better.

Hello March! While in January I did well: 6 submissions (4 reprints, 2 new), 1 acceptance; in February was… well, it was the bare minimum: 1 submission (1 new). Onward to March.

  • Chicken Soup for the Soul – Various titles, various themes, various deadlines, 1,200 word count limit.
  • Clarkesworld – Currently open for art, non-fiction, and short story submissions.
  • Cast of Wonders – Young adult short fiction market, open to story submissions up to 6,000 words.
  • Totally Entwined – Many calls, various dates and lengths.
  • Wet Summer Nights – White collar/blue collar, cross-town, wrong side of the tracks lovers theme; Mischief Corner Books; 10k-18k word count; deadline March 31st, 2017.
  • Utter Fabrication – Haunted House or other architecturally-themed building; 1st-person; 500-8k world count; deadline March 31st, 2017.
  • A Fool For You – Tales of Tricksters; Less than Three Press; 10k-20k word count; deadline March 31st, 2017.
  • Chelsea Station – Nonpaying, but a great magazine; deadline May 1st 2017.
  • Alice Unbound – Think Alice in Wonderland, only speculative and may embrace fabulist, weird, myth, SF, fantasy, steampunk, horror, etc. Exile Editions; Submission window: February 1st – May 31st, 2017; 2k – 5k word count limit; Canadians and ex-pat Canadians only.
Leave a Reply

