Matches 2 – It’s the End of the World As We Know It

CoverIt’s been a week, and I’ve been batting the idea back and forth with fellow author Jeffrey Ricker about these writing prompts potentially ending up collected somewhere. In the meanwhile, here are five more from my various notes/thoughts/journals/dreams.

If this is your first visit to my prompts (or ‘matches’) it’s in honour of a book called The Writer’s Book of Matches. It has 1,001 little prompts that are designed to give you something to work with. I often flip through it when I’m in the mood to just write without a specific focus. The book has three kinds of prompts: A single line of dialog; a scenario or situation; and assignment prompts where the book lists a series of three characters all reacting to a particular moment/event, and since I first got it, I’ve been noting my own prompts to myself the same way.

This weeks matches all come as fallout from various dreams and mostly due to my husband playing Fallout or The Last of Us. I often dream about the things I’m listening to, reading, or watching before I go to bed—one of the reasons I avoid horror—and my husband’s video gaming inspires a lot of subconscious thought.

If you ever find success or just fiddle around with any of these ‘matches,’ please do let me know!


  • Yellowstone erupts.
  • “Oh my God! Look at what happened to the moon!”
  • With only about twelve hours warning, people prepare for a Coronal Mass Ejection that will take down massive swaths of the power grid, as well as knocking GPS and most lines of communication offline. It will arrive sometime overnight.
  • “Look, we don’t have much time. You need to get to somewhere safe, before it all goes to hell. I’ll meet you at the cabin. I don’t know how long it will take me to get to you, but don’t leave, okay? We’ll never find each other again in this mess.”
  • A biological outbreak devastates the population in the days leading up to Christmas, with a nearly complete rate of fatality. In one city, this coincides with a terrible ice storm. Write about the following three survivors who find themselves completely alone: A grade school teacher, who fell ill with the outbreak and thought he would die but wakes up in the hospital, the only survivor in the building; a truck driver who just made it to the city before the ice storm hit; and first year university student on his way home to his family for the holidays who was at the airport when all planes were grounded and doesn’t know anyone in the city at all.

See you next week, and by all means, drop any prompts of your own in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Matches 2 – It’s the End of the World As We Know It

  1. The one made me think of the old Charles Addams cartoon; the woman is in the living room saying to her husband; “Dear, just this once, I think you should come look at the moon.” Outside, the Moon is blotting out most of the sky…
    Pleasant dreams…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

