Writing Wednesday – Proofs!

triad-soul

Obligatory reminder you can pre-order.

I have the page proofs for Triad Soul in my hot little hands. I always get them printed so I can take my one-last-round (by which I mean as many last rounds as I can squeeze in) through the book looking for typos and other niggling errors. I read it out loud. I read it backwards (no, really, I go backwards through the book—it stops me from forgetting I’m on the hunt for typos and slipping into just reading.

So, that’s my plan for the next while.

As much as this is one of the most tedious parts of the process, it also feels great. You get to see (and touch!) the book, and it’s so close to being the end of the publication journey that it all becomes so real. The next stop is actually holding the finished book in your hands, which is amazing. So this feels like a happy tease of “almost, almost…”

All that to say, I’m excited, I can’t wait to share more of Luc, Anders, and Curtis (and the rest of the gang) with y’all. June can’t come fast enough.


Exit Plans for Teenage Freaks

 

I’m putting the novel on hold a bit while I do the proof-checking (see above), and I’m going to shift my writing goals to the short fiction pieces while I juggle the two projects. In fact, I’m having a great time working on some short fiction right now, which I think is even recharging my battery for the novel. I seem to be a writer who needs to do that: I can do so much better with a large project if I interject smaller ones between.


Of Echoes Born

Camp NaNoWriMo is helping here, though I botched a daily word count when I got my proofs (but, proofs!).

 

But, as always, I’m making headway. And progress is progress.


Open Calls for Submission

Every Wednesday I try to include my list off all the various open calls for submission I’ve found and/or am trying to write for. If you know of any others, by all means do drop them in the comments and I’ll add them to the list. If this is helpful for people other than myself, it’s even better.

Hello, April! April has been kinder than February and March. I got an acceptance already for April (always welcome, and details once I can share them!) and I submitted something as well (1 new). January was: 6 submissions (4 reprints, 2 new), 1 acceptance; in February was bare minimum: 1 submission (1 new). March brought 1 rejection, and 1 submission (new).

  • Chicken Soup for the Soul – Various titles, various themes, various deadlines, 1,200 word count limit.
  • Clarkesworld – Currently open for art, non-fiction, and short story submissions.
  • Cast of Wonders – Young adult short fiction market, open to story submissions up to 6,000 words.
  • Totally Entwined – Many calls, various dates and lengths.
  • Renewal – QSF’s annual flash fiction contest, queer content, “renewal” theme, as 300 word count; deadline April 10th, 2017.
  • Chelsea Station – Nonpaying, but a great magazine; deadline May 1st 2017.
  • Alice Unbound – Think Alice in Wonderland, only speculative and may embrace fabulist, weird, myth, SF, fantasy, steampunk, horror, etc. Exile Editions; Submission window: February 1st – May 31st, 2017; 2k – 5k word count limit; Canadians and ex-pat Canadians only.
  • Myths, Moons, and Mayhem – M/M/M ménage; Deadline June 1st, 2017; 4k – 6k word count limit.
  • The Witching Hour – Mythical creature visitation theme; deadline July 30th, 2017; 10k to 40k word count limit.

Leave a comment